Posts

Showing posts from April, 2017

ICC's rich history

Immaculate Conception Parish was formally erected July 2, 1573; it's on its 443rd year under the title of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception Parish.

The Philippine Province of the Most Holy Name of Jesus of the Order of St. Augustine accepted the convent of Pasig under the title of "Conventus Visitationis Mariae de Pasi".  It covers almost majority of areas in Pasig, among them, Maybunga, Sto. Tomas de Villanueva, and Rosario.

When the Filipino-Spanish war broke out, the Augustinian Spanish friars were replaced by Don Victor Ramos y Aguillon, a Filipino priest who safeguarded the church possessions.  Unfortunately, the Americans violated international law and set houses of fire during the ensuing battle of February 9, 1899, destroying remnants of the jewels of the church safeguarded by the residents, including the image of the patroness. It was during 1903-1904 that the image of the Immaculada Concepcion de Pasig was acquired.

In 1910, Fr. Cornelio de Brouwer, CICM ar…